# CITY OF CASEVILLE COUNCIL MEETING January 9, 2017

## **CALL TO ORDER:**

The January 9, 2017 Meeting of the Caseville City Council was called to Order by Mayor Patricia Des Jardins at 6:30 p.m. The meeting was held in the Caseville City/Township Hall, 6767 Main, in Caseville Michigan. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

## **ROLL CALL:**

PRESENT: Council Members Michelle Beltz, Clint Braun, Jerald Ignash, Darin Sprague, Debra Estep and Mayor Patricia D. Des Jardins.

MOTION, Carried, by Sprague, second by Braun to excuse Todd Talaski from the board meeting. 5-0 Approved.

## **OTHERS PRESENT:**

Jamie Learman, Office Admin/Clerk, Troy Hartz, DPW Supt., Kyle Romzek, Police Chief, and Laura Horkey, Treasurer.

## **SET AGENDA**:

MOTION Carried by Estep second by Sprague to **SET** the agenda as presented. 5-0 Approved.

# **MINUTES APPROVAL:**

**MOTION, Carried** by Estep second by Sprague to approve the minutes of the December 12, 2016 Council Meeting as presented. 5-0 Approved.

## **INVOICES, BUDGET AMENDMENTS & TRANSFERS:**

**RESOLUTION #2017-01, INVOICES**, (Adopted), by Sprague second by Ignash to approve 2<sup>nd</sup> Quarter Budget Transfers as presented in the amount of: \$48,482.29. Roll Call Vote: 5-0 Approved.

**RESOLUTION #2017-02, INVOICES**, (Adopted), by Sprague second by Estep to approve Invoices as presented in the amount of \$190,964.93, including invoices paid through 01-05-2017 \$190,276.95 and pending Council approval of \$687.98 for a **Total of \$190,964.93**. Roll Call Vote: 5-0 Approved.

#### PRESENTATIONS:

None

## **REPORTS/COMMITTEE REPORTS:**

Written reports or meeting minutes were received from various committees.

MOTION, Carried, by Estep, second by Sprague to file the reports as presented. 5-0 Approved.

## **CORRESPONDENCE:**

Letter from Todd Talaski to be excused from the Council meeting 1/9/2017

## **PUBLIC COMMENTS**:

Jamie Learman, Office Admin/Clerk stated that Attorney John Ferris office was contacted to see if Council Member Todd Talaski could remain on the City Council while serving as a county commissioner. The answer from Attorney Ferris was that Todd Talaski can remain on the council as long as no conflicting votes come up.

Kyle Romzek, Police Chief stated that his department received a donation check of \$5000.00 from the Helping Hands Thrift Store, to put towards the purchase of a new patrol car.

Derek Guster stated that the DPW is doing a great job.

JoAnne Vander Meulen questioned when the docks were supposed to be out of the main river, she stated that there is still a dock in the ice. She was advised by Council and DPW that the cutoff date was November 15, 2016 and contact will be made with owner in reference to the dock.

# **UNFINISHED BUSINESS:**

None

## **NEW BUSINESS:**

**MOTION, Carried** by Estep, second by Sprague to appoint Jamie Learman, Laura Horkey and Christopher Stahl to the City Election Commission for 2017. 5-0 Approved

**MOTION, Carried** by Sprague, second by Braun to re-appoint Joanne Vander Meulen to the Board of Review, term ending 1/2020. 5-0 Approved

**MOTION, Carried** by Sprague, second by Braun to re-appoint Wayne Hazzard to the Board of Review (Alternate), term ending 1/2020. 5-0 Approved

**MOTION, Carried** by Sprague, second by Beltz to approve the Schedule of Meeting Dates for 2017 for the City Council. 5-0 Approved

**MOTION, Carried** by Sprague, second by Ignash to approve the Schedule of Meeting Dates for 2017 for the Planning Commission. 5-0 Approved

**MOTION, Carried** by Sprague, second by Beltz to approve the 2017 Schedule of Meeting Dates for the Caseville Downtown Development Authority. 5-0 Approved

**RESOLUTION #2017-3,** (Adopted), by Estep, second by Braun to approve the following list of Election Inspectors for calendar year 2017:

CHAIRPERSONS: Dena Withey & Colleen Poisson (co-chairpersons);

<u>INSPECTORS</u>: Alice & Wayne Hazzard, Louis & Linda Balaze, Dianna Dunn, Jacqueline Finneren, Daniel & Karen Korbutt, Rebecca McGeathy, Marilyn Mitchell, Joanne Vander Meulen, Gail Wilcox, Regina Kraft and Elizabeth Willenberg. This list shall not be limited to those named in the resolution.

RATE OF PAY for 2017 elections shall be: Chair \$12/hr. Inspectors \$11/ hr.

Roll Call Vote: 5-0 Approved

**RESOLUTION #2017-4,** (Adopted), by Sprague, second by Beltz to donate \$600 to the Huron County Sheriff's Department for drug enforcement. Roll Call Vote: 5-0

**RESOLUTION #2017-5,** (Adopted), by Braun, second by Ignash to approve the installation of insulation at the DPW garage at a cost not to exceed \$3,500. Roll Call Vote: 5-0 Approved

# **PUBLIC COMMENTS:**

Christine LaBrosse questioned if she gets re-imbursement for her library card.

Troy Hartz, DPW Supt. Commented on the insolation for the DPW garage.

#### **COUNCIL COMMENTS:**

Clint Braun stated that the insulation for the DPW garage will save money in the winter on heating. He also stated that he was disappointed that we did not have a commissioner at the meeting.

Debra Estep wished everyone a Happy New Year.

Mayor Patricia D. Des Jardins thanked the council for doing a good job, the public for attending the meetings, and she wished everyone a Happy Healthy New Year.

## **ADJOURNMENT:**

Motion by Estep, second by Ignash to Adjourn. 5-0 Approved. Meeting adjourned at 6:48 P.M.

Laura Horkey, Treasurer/Deputy Clerk

Patricia Des Jardins, Mayor

Persons in need of accommodation for effective participation in the meeting should call (989) 856-2102 to request mobility, visual, hearing or other assistance. Copies of the minutes may be purchased or viewed in the Office from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Mon - Fri (except holidays)